102.) Tue Mar. 14, 2017

Originally Published on Mar. 14, 2017

The Song of the Day is:

Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Snow (Hey Oh)”

From the album Stadium Arcadium (2006)

Ok, I’m being cheeky. After a pretty-much snow free winter, we here in Maryland finally got dumped on halfway through March. To mark the occasion, The Red Hot Chili Peppers’ “Snow” will serve my literal purpose.  I love John Frusciante, I think he is a creative and open-minded guitarist, I just wish he’d stay with the band.  He was a part of their (in my opinion) best albums, Mother’s Milk, Blood Sugar Sex Magic, Californication, By the Way and Stadium Arcadium.  I just wish he’d stick around with the band, clearly he is a temperamental man as he’s quit RHCP several times (yes I am aware of his drug history, who knows though, maybe the other Peppers aren’t as California sunny as they seem).  Bassist Flea and Frusciante clearly had some amazing interplay as, they lock in as tight as they did in another rapid riffing song, Californication‘s “Parallel Universe”.  No disrespect to current guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, but it seems like the band has lost a step since Frusciante left (but I haven’t seen Klinghoffer in concert with the band, so I can’t comment on that).  The band still remains one of the most technically gifted bands to play to a mainstream audience.

Leave a comment