1,248.) Sun May 3, 2020

The Song of the Day is:

Doja Cat – “Boss Bitch”

From the soundtrack to the film Birds of Prey (2020)

You ain’t even here to party
Ken in the club tryna pipe a Barbie
I don’t wanna go, go, go with the flow
Back-bend ’til I touch my toes
I don’t wanna row, row, row the boat
Wrist full of rocks and I hope I float
Big up yourself ’cause you know they don’t
I chew, chew, chew ’cause they hope I choke (hey)

I’m a bitch, I’m a boss
I’m a bitch and a boss, I’ma shine like gloss

Amalaratna Zandile Dlamini – Ashton Casey – Imad Royal – Sky Adams

Happy Birthday to my wife, the boss b of our family! I usually try to give my wife the choice of song of the day on her birthday, and a lot of the time she picks a modern rap track. I don’t know if she’d call rap her favorite genre of music, but as far as current music, I think it excites her the most. She is usually much more hip to new artists than I am, even though I follow music sites a lot closer than she does. She’s recently been into Cardi B and as far as I can tell, Doja Cat is cut from the same cloth. What do actually know about Doja Cat? Not very much, but my wife has really been enjoying her. This song is from the Harley Quinn/Birds of Prey movie, which is not something I think my wife would watch, but she loves this song nonetheless. She does love a good female empowerment song. While Doja Cat has gotten quite successful recently, she could be considered an emerging talent. The rapper, who in real life has a Zulu name of Amalaratna Zandile Dlamini due to her father’s ethnicity, picked her stage name due to a love of marijuana (“Doja” is yet another slang term for the drug). Doja Cat is two albums into her career, but she started as a SoundCloud rapper in 2013. At that point she was still in high school. She has also gone viral with “Mooo!” and her TikTok hit “Say So”, which was recently remixed to include Nicki Minaj, an artist with whom she’d previously been feuding. She has also collaborated with Gucci Mane and Tyga. She was supposed to be headlining a large tour this spring, but it had been postponed due to the COVID19 pandemic. Anyway, we’ll be doing our best to find some crabs to dine on for my wife’s birthday tonight and listening to some Doja Cat. Happy Birthday Baby!

If you enjoy the blog, please consider helping me pay the dues paypal.me/MichaelSliwa.  

Thanks!

https://youtu.be/RsW66teC0BQ

https://youtu.be/PNMQTRvWuNw

Leave a comment