75.) Wed Feb. 15, 2017

Originally Published on Feb. 15, 2017

RIP Al Jarreau (1940-2017)

thIJJ87U6SThe Song of the Day is:

MI0003515825

Al Jarreau – “We’re In This Love Together”

From the album Breakin’ Away (1981)

Try as I might, I can’t be an expert on everyone.  My mom asked me if was going to play a song from an jazz/R&B vocalist Al Jarreau for Junior following his passing on Sunday. I suppose I should play one, and not let my ignorance if his music be my roadblock. His name is a name I have heard as long as I can recall, but I never really sought him out. So I am just scratching the surface on what I can tell is a long and varied career. I perused some of Jarreau’s albums to get a feel. However, when I heard this song, as a life-long Michael Jackson’s Thriller devotee, it was like finding the missing link. It sounds like “Baby Be Mine” and “The Girl is Mine” could have been cut the same afternoon. There are definitely session musicians who were around for both albums, like Steve Lukather and his Toto bandmates and future produce David Foster. I’ve been pleasantly surprised by what I’ve heard of him so far, and there’s no arguing that the guy was a superb vocalist. So Al Jarreau (1940-1976), I hardly knew you, but you’ve left a lot for me to catch up on.

Leave a comment